Major League Baseball will start its season earlier than it ever has in 2018, offering teams three to four additional off-days as part of a new scheduling format.

Take a ahead to 2018…Check out next years full schedule! #Mets

The Yankees, Mets and 28 other clubs all will begin play on Thursday, March 29 the first time since 1968 that every team will open on the same date. The Yankees will travel to Toronto for Opening Day while the Mets will host the Cardinals at Citi Field.

The home opener at Yankee Stadium is set for April 2 against Tampa Bay.

As part of the new collective bargaining agreement, the increased off-days will give teams additional rest and opportunities for rescheduling. Previously, the earliest Opening Day at a traditional major league ballpark was March 30 done in 2003, 2008 and 2014.

Key series:

Some other notables from the schedule reveal:

The Subway Series will be broken up in 2018, with three games to be played at Citi Field on June 8-10 and three more at Yankee Stadium on July 20-22.

The Yankees will finish the season with three games at Fenway Park, which could decide the AL East champ. The Mets, meanwhile, will close out the season with a six-game homestand against the Braves and Marlins.

According to, the Mets are expected to be part of the second annual Little League Classic, where they will play the Phillies on Aug. 19 in Williamsport. The league has not yet made this official.

A 2009 World Series rematch will take place June 25-27, when the Yankees visit the Phillies at Citizens Bank Park.

Interleague play for 2018 pits the AL East vs. the NL East, AL Central vs. NL Central and AL West vs. NL West.

On April 17-18, the Twins and Indians will play at Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Washington will host the 2018 All-Star Week at Nationals Park, set to begin July 15 with the Midsummer Classic scheduled for July 17.